2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup History, Information And Group Stage Draw

The men’s 2022 World Cup Finals may have just recently come to an end, but not too far away is another World Cup Finals, this time for women and it is already shaping up to be a hugely exciting tournament.

That is especially the case for England Lionesses fans who having seen their team win the European Championship last summer, now see Sarina Wiegman’s team ranked as one of the favourites to win the biggest prize in women’s football.

Bet365 Sport will certainly have plenty of betting on this huge tournament for women’s football nearer the start date in July, so it is a good idea to keep checking back on the site nearer the first game in order to see what the latest odds are on the tournament.

Let’s now take a closer look at the history of the Women’s World Cup, before we focus in on the tournament taking place later this year involving 32 of the best women’s national teams in the world.

FIFA Women’s World Cup Database

  • The first men’s World Cup took place in 1930, but it was 61 years before the very first FIFA Women’s World Cup was officially contested in 1991.
  • Since then the tournament has been held every four years.
  • Six countries have hosted the Women’s World Cup. Canada, France, Sweden and Germany have all hosted the tournament once, while China and the United States have hosted the tournament twice.
  • The 2023 tournament will take place in Australia and New Zealand, making it the first Women’s World Cup finals to be contested in the southern hemisphere.
  • Only four teams have won the FIFA Women’s World Cup. The United States have won four times, Germany have won it twice with Norway and Japan also winning the tournament once each.
  • Only 12 teams competed in the first FIFA Women’s World Cup in 1991 in China. However since then the tournament has grown to now featuring 32 teams in the 2023 event.
  • The leading goalscorer at all FIFA Women’s World Cup competitions is Brazilian striker Marta who has scored 17 goals. Abby Wambach of the United States and Birgit Prinz of Germany hold second spot on the list jointly, both scoring 14 goals.
  • Only two teams have scored over 100 goals at Women’s World Cup Finals tournaments. United States lead the way with 138 followed by Germany with 121. England have managed 43 goals in World Cup Finals, good enough for seventh place on the list.
  • Out of 50 World Cup Finals games, the United States have lost just four.
  • England’s Lionesses have reached the semi-finals of the last two World Cup Finals tournaments, losing both, although they have finished a high of 3rd in the 2015 World Cup Finals, finishing 4th in 2019.
  • Megan Rapinoe was the Golden Ball winner back in 2019, with Lucy Bronze taking the Silver Ball.

Let’s now take a look ahead to the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 kicking off later this year.

2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup will start on the 20th July 2023, with New Zealand taking on Norway at Eden Park in Auckland.

Throughout the tournament, the group and knockout phase matches will take place in both New Zealand and Australia.

Australia’s host venues are Stadium Australia (83,500) and Sydney Football Stadium (42,512) both in Sydney, Lang Park (52,263) in Brisbane, the Rectangular Stadium in Melbourne (30,052), the Rectangular Stadium in Perth (22,225) and the Hindmarsh Stadium in Adelaide (18,435).

New Zealand will see action in four stadia, Eden Park in Auckland (48,276), Wellington Regional Stadium (39,000), Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin (28.744) and the Waikato Stadium in Hamilton (25,111).

The final will take place on the 20th August 2023 at Stadium Australia in Sydney.

The competition has been expanded from 24 teams to 32 teams to match the size of the men’s World Cup Finals.

Remaining Playoff Games

29 of the 32 teams are already known, with the final three finalists to be decided by a series of playoff games.

  • Playoff Group A Winners Will Be Decided From – Cameroon, Thailand or Portugal
  • Playoff Group B Winners Will Be Decided From – Senegal, Haiti or Chile
  • Playoff Group C Winners Will Be Decided From – Chinese Taipei, Paraguay, Papua New Guinea or Panama

These playoff games will be played between the 18th and 23rd February 2023 to decide the final three places in the World Cup Finals.

The teams that qualify from the playoffs will take the drawn spot they have already been allocated in the Group Stage draw.

Group Stage Draw

The Group Stage draw was completed in October 2022 in Auckland New Zealand and resulted in the following groups.

Groups A, C, E and G will be contested in New Zealand

Groups B, D, F and H will be contested in Australia.

  • Group A – New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Scotland
  • Group B – Australia, Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, Canada
  • Group C – Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan
  • Group D – England, Playoff Group B Winners, Denmark, China
  • Group E – United States, Vietnam, Netherlands, Playoff Group A Winners
  • Group F – France, Jamaica, Brazil, Playoff Group C Winners
  • Group G – Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina
  • Group H – Germany, Morocco, Colombia, South Korea

Teams will play the other teams in their group once in the Group Stages with the top two teams in each of the eight groups going through to the Round of 16 in the Knockout Stage of the tournament.

The Knockout Stage

The Knockout Stage of the tournament begins with the Round of 16, where the winners of one group will take on the runner’s up of another group.

The draw for the Knockout Stage, Quarter Finals and Semi Finals have already been made and are as follows:

Round of 16

  • Match 1 – Group A Winner V Group C Runner Up
  • Match 2 – Group E Winner V Group G Runner Up
  • Match 3 – Group C Winner V Group A Runner Up
  • Match 4 – Group G Winner V Group E Runner Up
  • Match 5 – Group B Winner V Group D Runner Up
  • Match 6 – Group F Winner V Group H Runner Up
  • Match 7 – Group D Winner V Group B Runner Up
  • Match 8 – Group H Winner v Group F Runner Up

Quarter Finals

  • Match 9 – Winner Match 1 v Winner Match 2
  • Match 10 – Winner Match 3 v Winner Match 4
  • Match 11 – Winner Match 5 v Winner Match 6
  • Match 12 – Winner Match 7 v Winner Match 8

Semi Finals

  • Match 13 – Winner Match 9 v Winner Match 10
  • Match 14 – Winner Match 11 v Winner Match 12

3rd Place Match

  • Match 15 – Loser Match 13 v Loser Match 14

World Cup Final

  • Match 16 – Winner Match 13 v Winner Match 14

Who Are The Favourites?

It is the usual suspects that are amongst the favourites to win the Women’s World Cup in 2023.

Holders, the United States are expected to be strong, as are the likes of Germany, Spain, France, Canada, the Netherlands and Sweden.

However, England’s Lionesses will also be amongst the big favourites for the tournament after winning Euro 2022 and also beating the United States in a friendly shortly after.

Remember to check back for more betting on this tournament nearer the time when bet365 Sport has odds available.